University Council

Kampala University >University Council

The University Senate is the governing body entrusted with authority to act upon educational matters and regulations of the academic community.

The University Council is an independent oversight governing body of the University. It sets and approves policies; manages checks and balances to ensure the University fulfills its mandate. The Council consists of different stakeholders among them prominent public and business people, and a representation from the University Staff, Students and Alumni.

Being the supreme Administrative and Financial body of the University, the Council functions through three Boards: the Planning Board, the Finance Board and the Appointments and Staff Welfare Board.

The general functions of the Boards are:

  • The Finance Board oversees the financial administration of the University, including the presentation of the annual budget.
  • The Planning and Development Board oversees the strategic planning, the acquisition and disposition of real property, and the raising of funds for the University.
  • The Appointments Board and Staff Welfare Board oversees the Personnel policy of the University and shall establish positions on the staff and approve appointments to the staff.

The following are the members of the University Council:

Prof. Syed Abidi

Chairman Council

– Ph.D (H.c) L F.U.U.S.A. D. Lit Hc (KU),
– M.A (Pol.Sc) (Agra). M.Lib.Sc(Delhi),
– Dip.(Germ, Arabic, Hindi, Persian),
– B. A(Hons), PGD (Lib.Sc)

Owek. Amb. Al Haj Prof. Badru D. Kateregga

Vice Chancellor

– (National Hero),
– D.Lit(Hc) (KU)PhD (Ed)(Hc),
– (TEAU),
– K.A.M (K.S.A),
– M.A. (London),
– B.A. Hons(M.U.K),
– Dip. Edu.(Muk)

Segawa Ahmed Hamza


Prof, Emeritus A.B.T. Byaruhanga Akiiki


– Ph.D (E.A),
– M.A. Holy Cross,
– B.A. Hons (Notre Dame)

Boards and Committees

The University Leadership manages different activities through the following Boards and Committees.

  • Finance Board
  • Planning and Development Board
  • Human Resources Board
  • Student Affairs Board
  • Audit and Risk Management Committee
  • Procurement Committee